Moto perpetuo by N. Paganini (transcribed for soprano sax) (PDF)

N. Paganini
Moto perpetuo
(transcribed for soprano sax)
Encore 17
Released date: 2023
ISBN 9 790803 760287



‘Moto Perpetuo’ is a remarkable piece by the Italian composer and virtuoso violinist Niccolò Paganini. Moto Perpetuo, which translates to “perpetual motion,” is a dazzling and fast-paced work that showcases Paganini’s exceptional technical skill and innovative approach to violin writing.

Originally written for solo violin, Moto Perpetuo is renowned for its impressive displays of virtuosity, featuring intricate and rapid passages that demand exceptional finger dexterity and a great deal of stamina from the performer. The piece is also notable for its use of constant sixteenth-note rhythms, which create a continuous sense of motion and energy throughout the entire composition.

Paganini’s Moto Perpetuo has become a cornerstone of the violin repertoire and has been widely studied and performed by musicians around the world. Its enduring popularity is a testament to Paganini’s lasting impact on the violin as an instrument, as well as his contribution to the development of virtuosic writing in classical music.

Francesco Barbaria has skillfully adapted the work to showcase the unique tonal qualities and expressive capabilities of the soprano saxophone, while still retaining the challenging and exhilarating character of the original piece.

Frédéric Matagne

Extracts to download
You may be interested in: