Cavalleria rusticana – Intermezzo sinfonico by P. Mascagni (arranged for clarinet ensemble)

P. Mascagni
Cavalleria rusticana – Intermezzo sinfonico
(arranged for clarinet ensemble)
Opus 13
Released date: 2023
ISBN 9 790803 760348



Pietro Mascagni’s “Intermezzo Sinfonico” from “Cavalleria Rusticana” serves as a poignant pause in the opera’s dramatic narrative. In this reflective interlude, Mascagni uses the evocative power of music to explore deep human emotions. Its simplicity is its strength, delivering a dialogue of hope and despair, encapsulated in a beautifully haunting melody. As you listen, allow this timeless piece to transport you into its world of profound emotion and subtle storytelling.

Luca Mozzillo has transcribed this powerful piece for a clarinet ensemble. His interpretation captures the stirring emotions of Mascagni’s work while leveraging the unique tonal richness of the clarinet.

Extracts to download
You may be interested in: