Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso op. 28 by C. Saint-Saëns (transcribed for flute)

C. Saint-Saëns
Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso
(transcribed for flute)
Encore 10
Released date: 2022
ISBN 9 790803 760171



The Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso was originally intended to be the rousing finale to Saint-Saëns’ first violin concerto, Op. 20, though its success as a solo composition at its first performance led Saint-Saëns to publish it separately.

The premiere took place on 4 April 1867 at the Champs-Élysées, with Pablo de Sarasate playing the solo part and the composer conducting.

Several arrangements of the score have been made, including for violin and piano by Georges Bizet, piano duet by Jacques Durand, and two pianos by Claude Debussy.

Danilo Russo

Extracts to download
You may be interested in: