12 Fantasias for Violin by G.P. Telemann (transcribed for Bb and A clarinet)

G.P. Telemann
12 Fantasias for Violin
(transcribed for Bb and A clarinet)
Opus 5
Released date: 2022
ISBN 9 790803 760041



Georg Philipp Telemann’s collection of 12 Fantasias for Solo Violin, entitled ‘Fantasie per il Violino senza Basso’, is one of Telemann’s collections of music for unaccompanied instruments, the others being twelve fantasias for solo flute, thirty-six for solo harpsichord and twelve fantasias – very recently found in a private collection – for solo viola da gamba.

This transcription was based on the original manuscript. The dynamics and articulations follow the manuscript as closely as possible. I have added none of my own so as to leave the performer free to interpret this rich music. I realise that most clarinetists will find playing from a score with no added tempi, dynamics, articulations and breathing marked a little confusing. But that is precisely what I believe is so rich about this version closely following the original. I hope you will enjoy playing them as much as I do!

Extracts to download
You may be interested in: